Friday finds

20130823-175312.jpg
EAT: This golden Olive Oil Cake from Rich Table in San Francisco. It seems like the perfect, versatile, not-too-sweet base for summer berries now and citrus curd (like this grapefruit black pepper curd from the darling and talented Rachel Khoo), or just about anything else later. I’ll swap the one cup AP flour for gluten-free AP flour, and the dairy milk for almond milk. This one looks easy and delicious– I’ll report back.

20130823-102711.jpg
COOK: I need to get my hands on this new paleo cookbook from Danielle at Against All Grain. I’m a big fan of her blog and recipes, and her book is getting knock-out reviews (Congratulations, Danielle!). Bonus: She’s posted the paleo brownie recipe from her book for you to try– I know I will.

20130823-102723.jpg
BODY: Like most of us, I put cleanser and moisturizer on my face every single day. Because I want it to sink in to my skin and do its job, that also means I only want good stuff for ingredients. The folks at Nahla Beauty are at the top of my list for super-effective, great-smelling products you can feel good about. Their products are completely free of toxins, petrochemicals, synthetics, parabens, dyes and fragrance oils, and are handmade from scratch with ingredients from small organic and biodynamic farms, wild crafters and artisan producers. I am already a big fan of the Forest Mint Gentle Foaming Cleanser, the Calendula Healing Cream (for hands, elbows, etc.), and the White Peony Firming Face Drops, and will be swapping a few more into my regimen.

20130823-175245.jpg
SHOP: I mentioned Uniqlo last week, but wanted to make sure you knew about these other somewhat-under-the-radar online shops.
BRIKA is a lovely curated version of etsy, where co-founders Kena and Jen feature objects from hand-picked makers, artisans and designers, from stationary to jewelry to household items and even toys. Great for gifts– to yourself or others!
Everlane makes stylish basics (tees, sweaters, silk and poplin blouses, scarves, a variety of bags and more) with “radical transparency” as their motto. This includes where their clothes are made and how much they are marked up (the answers: in socially-responsible factories and quite a bit less than usual). The Wall Street Journal recently wrote about Everlane as “feel-good fashion.”
At Kaufmann Mercantile, you never know what practical and well-designed treasure you might come across. From sturdy and beautiful Paris-made Le Kraft leather notebooks and Blackwing Japanese drawing and writing pencils in the office section, to tools for the kitchen, garden and outdoors, and sturdy and stylish accessories, it’s full of finds. There’s even this fun handmade slingshot I bought as a gift.
Now J. Crew is not a news flash, but have you been to the J. Crew Factory site? I don’t have patience for outlets, but this online version borrows heavily from the very shoppable design of J. Crew online. Expect J. Crew style at discounted prices with frequent sales. The best pieces often go fast, so you have to be on your toes! Pro tip: Sign up for their list to get advance notice of new arrivals.

Leave a Reply

