Summer’s swan song supper: Caponata Panzanella

20130922-213728.jpg
I made such a great discovery this week– natural and seasonal foods blog, The First Mess.

Laura is a chef in Canada, and it took no time at all to find a handful of her recipes that I wanted to make, uh, immediately. Given our very changeable weather this week, the Caponata Panzanella seemed just right. I made it that same night.

In this dish, summer freshness and flavors (tomatoes! fresh herbs!) meet the richer, heartier flavors and textures of the stewed eggplant, olives, onions and garlic. You could serve it cold, but C and I liked it warm and drizzled with our favorite olive oil and balsamic vinegar. I also added some crushed red pepper for a little kick. Use your favorite gluten free or paleo bread (or regular bread, if you’re so inclined). I used Happy Campers Kiss Me Garlic Rosemary bread, and it was perfect.

Next up from The First Mess: Sweet Potato Almond Biscuits and Gravy. This will make it to our dinner table later this week. Her mushroom gravy sounds divine, but I’m planning to top my biscuits with a sausage gravy made with almond milk.

Leave a Reply

