Hidden gem: Arugularium

20140112-215736.jpg
Recently, I accidentally stumbled on creperie, Arugularium. And I’m so glad I did! The light-filled space, delicious crepes, Steven Smith tea, and jars of some of the tastiest local wild flower honey I’ve tried, are all part of its charm.

I have Béa to thank for finding Arugularium. The new-ish Sellwood creperie moved in to the space across from one of the two pet stores we frequent. When I saw that it was a crepe place, I was prepared to be disappointed, thinking they may not have gluten-free options. But no need to worry– two of the three batters are gluten-free, with dairy-free options too.

20140112-215802.jpg

I had a ham, pear and arugula crepe with dried cranberries. It normally comes with cheese, but they were happy to make it dairy-free for me by swapping in rosemary caramelized onions and fig jam instead. It was a great combination, really flavorful and the perfect balance of sweet and savory. I’m hooked on the texture of their buckwheat crepes. They are delicately crisp on the outside and tender on the inside.

20140112-215910.jpg

And for dessert…

20140112-215959.jpg

I enjoyed every last bite of the seasonal meyer lemon curd crepe (plus a few swipes of my finger on the plate to get the last few drops– don’t tell.) The house-made lemon curd was tangy, sweet and bursting with fresh citrus. So good.

20140112-220702.jpg

I left with a jar of local wild flower honey from Nature’s Wild Harvest in Vancouver, WA. I adore good honey and this one is a keeper. It’s really complex and deeply floral. It’s been terrific with everything so far (tea, baked goods, licked from the spoon).

Arugularium
8337 SE 17th Avenue
Portland OR 97202

2 thoughts on “Hidden gem: Arugularium

  1. Pingback: January wishlist | The Modern Hunt

  2. Pingback: Today at the Lloyd Farmers Market | Lloyd Farmers' Market

Leave a Reply

