72 Hours in Austin

20140331-120103.jpg
I took a last-minute trip to Austin, Texas this past week, and I have to say I was completely smitten. Great food! Music everywhere! Texas charm mixed with progressive ideas! While I was definitely busy with the work conference I was attending, I was lucky enough to squeeze in a bit of exploring, too.


I put together a quick little video tour of some of my favorite downtown Austin sites. Click on the image above to check it out and keep reading for the highlights.

The friendly folks at Royal Blue Grocery on N. Congress Ave. kept me fueled with almond milk earl grey tea lattes and healthy snacks. I had a ridiculously tasty spin on a margarita that featured fresh citrus, muddled cucumber and jalapeño, and habeñero lime simple syrup at Star Bar on W. 6th.

20140401-002608.jpg
I satisfied my love for barbecue with some of the best, at “fancy barbecue” joint Lambert’s— great food and drink in a beautifully rustic, historic building on W. 2nd. I wished I was going to be there on a Friday night to catch a show upstairs!

Oh, and the strawberry cupcake with strawberry buttercream frosting at Delish on W. 3rd was, well, exactly that. And gluten free, too! Honorable mention goes to my Austin-style breakfast taco at Jo’s on W. 2nd– such a great place for a hearty (but not overly so) breakfast before my long trip home.

20140330-212454.jpg
After such a great trip, of course I wanted to bring a bit of Texas back with me. These topped my souvenir/gift list:

I’m already plotting a return trip to Austin to re-visit my favorites and  catch some of what I missed the first time around. And you can bet I’ll time it to take in some music.

Leave a Reply

