You can take it with you

Scenes from NYC

I was in New York this past week, staying in the East Village with one of my dearest friends and visiting my other favorite New Yorkers. Now that I live in Oregon, I don’t make it to New York all that often. But I keep a running list of new ideas and old favorites for when I do. And my favorite way to explore NY is on foot, so I don’t miss a thing.

Besides the photos and memories, it’s always nice to bring a little piece of New York back with me.

Here’s what I found this time (clockwise, from the top left):

I ate a late post-shopping lunch at Tacombi at Fonda Nolita. The sweet and spicy chipotle hibiscus salsa on my tiger shrimp taco was so good I asked to take some home. Lucky for me, their Vista Hermosa salsas are packaged in squeeze bottles for sale.

image

I spent all morning at Harney & Sons in Soho having tea and scones and tasting my way through their walls and walls of tea. After all that tasting, I left with tins of tea to give as gifts and some French Verveine to sip at home– like I am right now.

There’s a lot to like at the recently opened & Other Stories, H&M’s more refined sibling. The sweaters, dresses and bags were especially good. They also have an in-house apothecary, affordable jewelry and about a million different shades of on-trend nail polish. But the shoes, like these oxblood beauties, were my favorite.

IMG_6295

Until next time, New York…

Leave a Reply

